Zara’s Gender Neutral Clothing Line

Spanish brand Zara has launched its new line titled “Ungendered”. Already available online, the collection is made up of t-shirts, jeans, sweatshirts and joggers which are designed to conform to the body of anyone.

zara-11-810x990

The new range is setting quite the example for the fashion world, leaving terms “men’s” and women’s” looking rather outdated. It comes at a time when gender is becoming more of a liquid term. For years women have been buying ‘boyfriend fit’ jeans, recent fashion has some men choosing tight and low cut t-shirts. So as all of these cross-overs have emerged, why not sell to all, without that label. There’s never been anything wrong with buying from ‘the other section’, but if a woman likes a “man’s” jumper, would she feel embarrassed to buy it? I know when I’ve been shopping for my boyfriend and go walkabout in the store, some men start to look unnerved at a woman with an arm full of large skate Ts and sweatshirts, and I’ve made a point of saying he’d look good in them so they know they aren’t for me. But I wear sweatshirts. I wear graphic Ts. I often wear my boyfriends clothes for goodness sake. So why does it feel (even if we do it often) like we are doing something wrong. Growing up as a tomboy it was a topic of conversation that I often chose my clothes from the boys section. But why were adults so obsessed with it. I was just wearing what I liked. Why should there be any difference between me choosing pink stripes or purple dots, and choosing a Bart Simpson t-shirt.

I’m all for the unisex range. Its more sustainable to display and breaks down the barriers between sexes in a new realm. Well done Zara.

Here’s hoping that Zara encourages other big brands to follow its lead.

Leave a Reply

